Brine it.

I want to rave about brine for a minute.  I had never done it before but it is AMAZING.  I brined a pork roast this weekend and even though I used too much salt, it was so delicious and flavorful and juicy.  So easy, too:  combine 1/4 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. salt, 8 c. water and submerge pork roast overnight.

Since I’m not cooking Thanksgiving (thanks Aunt Nita!), I did a pre-Thanksgiving big dinner for just the three of us.  I made herb-and-garlic-crusted pork roast (the crust was bacon/apricot/rosemary/garlic/breadcrumbs), caramelized brussel sprouts, and scalloped russet and sweet potatoes (all from the Dec issue of BHG, which aren’t online yet but will be here someday).  It took 4 hours to prep and cook, but it was so worth it. 

I’ve never tried a brined turkey but I saw pre-brined ones at Trader Joe’s this morning.  Might have to throw one in the freezer…

image via pinterest/pioneer woman

2 thoughts on “Brine it.

Leave a Reply

