First day of school!

Yesterday was Mason’s first day of preschool! No tears were shed by the parents, although it was surreal. Matt and I just kept saying, this is so weird that he’s in school.

Granted, it’s not SCHOOL school. They mostly sit in circles, read stories, play with playdo and run around the big toy outside.  But it’s still a twice-a-week commitment at 9:30 a.m. I think it will be really good for Mason and us — the structure, making transitions better, listening to directions. Plus, the school is adorable, with all it’s little chairs and smocks and tempura paint.  He has 6 other classmates and they are too funny.

I’ve had a few comments about the fact that he’s so young to be in preschool. He is in a class with all two-year-olds. It’s not like we think he’s a child genius. A large portion of why we’re doing this is for us as parents — to meet other families with young kids {it’s a co-op preschool so we will be pretty involved} and to benefit from the school’s parent education.

Like most things I do, I dove into parenthood. I had no idea what I was doing. And I still don’t. There are so many days when I’m racking my brain for something to do with Mason besides play trains. My parenting tricks rotate between playdo, painting and having him be my baking assistant {oh, and television}. I’m looking forward to learning new ways to teach him and improving how I parent.

And if he does turn out to be a child prodigy, we can take some of the credit.  I kid.

2 thoughts on “First day of school!

  1. Cole started at a co-op when he was 1, so Mason is practically ancient to begin preschool! We LOVE co-op preschool (Ella went to co-op as well, but didn’t start until 3). It’s a great way to get your child started on a lifetime love of learning. I hope you can stick with the co-op until Kindergarten. Co-op kids really are super-prepared and ready 🙂

Leave a Reply

