Summer To-Do List: #2 – Make homemade jam.

See our family’s full summer to-do list here.

I love lists and crossing things off lists.  But I don’t like knowing I have to do something.  {This post will be about jam at some point}.  That’s my conflict about this summer to-do list:  It’s a to-do list, which I love.  But it’s a to-do list, which I hate.  And because I don’t like having to do something {and have undiagnosed ADD}, the things I should be doing {vaccuuming, cleaning the garage} get pushed out of the way by other less-dreaded things on the to-do list. 

Like making jam.

I just started picking raspberries today.  I was in the backyard hanging out with Mason.  Next thing you know, I’ve got a couple cups of raspberries.  Then I remember I tore out an easy jam recipe.  All I need is pectin and strawberries.  Easy.  Voila.  We now have 4 jars of jam.

It is so so so so so good.

Strawberry Raspberry Jam

from Sunset

  • 2 1/2 tablespoons (half a 1 3/4-oz. package) Sure-Jell pectin labeled “For less or no sugar needed recipes”
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar, divided
  • 1 1/2 cups coarsely mashed strawberries (from 1 lb. fruit)
  • 1 1/4 cups coarsely mashed raspberries (12 oz.)
  • 1 1/4 cups unsweetened berry juice blend
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon butter (prevents foaming)

1. Combine pectin and 1/4 cup sugar in a 5- to 6-qt. pot. Stir in berries, then berry and lemon juices and butter. Bring mixture to a brisk boil over high heat, stirring often.
2. Add remaining 1 cup sugar. Return jam to a brisk boil, stirring. Cook, stirring constantly, 1 minute. Remove from heat.
3. Ladle jam into heatproof jars and close with lids. Let cool to room temperature. Keeps, chilled, up to 1 month.

3 thoughts on “Summer To-Do List: #2 – Make homemade jam.

  1. The whole canning section of Sunset is the best class in canning ever. The peach raspberry jam is also divine. I’m canning this weekend!

Leave a Reply

