You mean you haven’t read Tina Fey’s new book?

I finished reading Tina Fey’s book Bossypants in about two days.  Yes, it’s an easy read but it’s also hilarious.  I drove Matt crazy, laughing to myself while I read.  But you will seriously laugh every page.  

Some of my favorite gems:

  • The Mother’s Prayer for Its Daughter:  “When the Crystal Meth is offered, may she remember the parents who cut her grapes in half and stick with beer … When she one day turns on me and calls me a bitch in front of  Hollister, give me the strength, Lord, to yank her directly into a cab in front of her friends, for I will not have that shit.  I will not have it.”
  • From her “The Rules of Improvisation That Will Change Your Life and Reduce Belly Fat” section:  “Speak in statements instead of apologetic questions” (this was directed at women, because there are too many women who use a baby voice and everything they say is a question? that goes up at the end? like, all the time?)
  • On breastfeeding vs. formula:  “Invented in the mid-1800s as a last-ditch option for orphans and underweight babies, packaged infant formula has since been perfected to be a complete and reliable source of stress and shame for mothers.”

I took the image above from a site called Hola Gossip.  I could have found it many places but I like that it came from a site like Hola Gossip.

Leave a Reply

