Old Lady Day

Yesterday, I went to a book signing for one of my favorite authors:  Jacqueline Winspear.  She writes the Maisie Dobbs mystery series, which I love, about a psychologist and investigator in London after World War I.  Mason came with and stole the show, naturally.

I was at least 20 years younger than anyone else there {except for Mason, of course}.  Because I am an old lady. 

I celebrated Old Lady Day by having several cups of tea and am at this very moment watching a PBS-airing of Sense and Sensibility that I recorded a while back.  I also celebrated by listening to an audio version of Persuasion on the drive to and from Seattle.

While on the topic of Old Lady Day, have you heard the rumor that Disney is going to remake the Miss Marple series?

“Disney has closed a deal for a big screen reboot of Agatha Christie’s “Miss Marple” mystery novel series, and the House of Mouse is making substantial changes to the story. Deadline reports that, instead of the British grandma Jane Marple portrayed in the books and in previous big screen incarnations, the film series will instead feature a young, far more svelte amateur sleuth, to be played by Jennifer Garner.”

Here’s what I think about that:

{The Original Miss Marple}

Don’t do it, Disney.  Please.

Now, time for my Metamucil and bed.

Leave a Reply

