Retro Disney

I love Disneyland.  I’ve probably mentioned that before.  Even more, I love retro Disney.  When we were cleaning out my Grandma’s house, I saved a bunch of stuff that my mom collected on her first trip to Disneyland back in…1968, maybe?…including the map of the park {which was so much smaller!}.  I also found a great little photo of my mom, my grandparents {who were pretty old when they had her}, and their old friends in front of Grauman’s Chinese Theater in Los Angeles {I’m assuming from the same trip}.

She’s going to kill me.  But just a heads up, mom:  I plan on hanging this up in my house, just haven’t figured out where yet.  I love the kitschy bamboo frame.

Anyway…I love old stuff.

And this stuff is amazing.  And it’s from people who are former Disney artists {dream job!}.  Artists Kevin Kidney and Jody Daily create these amazing paper sculptures and illustrations and reinterperate retro Disney.

I found out about these artists on Apartment Therapy {more about their work there}.

We’re grooming our own little Tiki Room fan, too.

4 thoughts on “Retro Disney

  1. That is amazing stuff! I’ll be in Disney World next week! Not the same, I know, but better than nothing 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

