Learning Something New: Cheesecake

I’ve never made a cheesecake before and it was high time I learn.  I started with the blue cheese cheesecake with a fig newton crust in the first gluten-free cookbook I bought.  No, that is not creme brulee.  Like I said, it was my first cheesecake.

The cheesecake was good — great consistency, just a little dark on top.  Probably not the sweetest, yummiest cheesecake though.  It is pretty blue cheese tasting {duh}.  My friend Kaitlin had a great idea:  slice it into bite-size pieces and serve it as an appetizer.  I think it had more of an appetizer flavor.

The kids weren’t huge fans.  Need to develop their palates, I guess.

The great thing about cheesecake as a gluten-free dessert option is that you can use almost any gluten-free cookie, puree it up with something like jam or butter, and it makes a great crust. 

Cheesecakes I want to try:

  • Pumpkin cheesecake
  • Key lime cheesecake (not gluten-free so I’ll need to figure out something different for the crust)
  • Mom – you need to send me the recipe for your kahlua cheesecake
Leave a Reply

