Six O’clock Scramble

I like to cook but I hate figuring out dinner.  I never have the right ingredients and I’m just not good at throwing together what I do have into something tasty.  So I’m trying out the Six O’Clock Scramble:  every Wednesday, they email you five recipes that take about 30 minutes to prepare, and a grocery list.

One week down and I LOVE it.   They’re healthy without being diet-food healthy because it’s not a lot of processed foods, few canned goods and mostly vegetables, lean proteins and whole grains.  Plus, Mason can eat them, too.  The recipes are usually for 6-8 servings so we’ve had lots of leftovers, but I probably saved $50 in lunches/eating out because I stuck to the meal plan.

This week’s menu:

  • Lemony Greek chicken with sauteed snow peas:  Awesome
  • Asian Shrimp Pilaf:  Really good cold the next day
  • Penne Pesto with Baby Spinach:  Favorite recipe
  • Lentil Stew with Honey Ginger Yogurt:  Wish the pitas I bought for this hadn’t molded 😦
  • Huevos Rancheros with Crispy Potatoes:  Took a long time because of peeling potatoes

I think it was $20 for 3 months or so.  For me, though, it’s worth it.  Totally fits how I figure out meals.

2 thoughts on “Six O’clock Scramble

  1. Ooh I want to try it…are there a lot of veggie options? I can see substituting the chicken for a veggie chicken breast, and we do eat seafood. Do you think it’d be worth it for me?

Leave a Reply

